By Alwin M. Ignacio


 The Philippine awards season officially begins! The Pambansang Lupon ng GAWAD Tagapuring mga Akademisyan ng Aninong Gumagalaw ( GAWAD-TANGLAW) revealed their complete list of winners in the fields of journalism, radio, television and film.

Now on its 14th year, this group of academicians painstakingly reviewed and monitored the various media and recently announced their best of the best in the highly contested categories.

The biggest acting winners for film are John Lloyd Cruz as best actor, for his role as the tormented and vengeful father and husband in Honor Thy Father and Ms. Tessie Tomas, bags the best actress trophy for her heartfelt portrayal of the grandmother who went back to school in Old Skool.

Old School Honor Thy Father

Tied in the best supporting actress category are Pilar Pilapil, the wise and sympathetic legal wife in Ettiquette for Mistresses and Meryll Soriano, the troubled and tortured wife and mother, also for Honor Thy Father.

As the perpetually in hiding overseas worker in Japan, JM de Guzman gets the best supporting actor nod and tropy for Imbisibol.

Gawad Tanglaw’s best picture choice is also Honor Thy Father, while the Student’s Choice Award for best film go to Philippines’ submitted for consideration in the Oscar Foreign Film category, Heneral Luna.

For television, FPJ’s Ang Probinsiyano is the Best TV Series, while the winners for best performance by an actor in a series are Paulo Avelino (Bridges of Love) and Coco Martin (FPJ’s  Ang Probinsiyano).

For the best performance by an actress in a series are the victorious ladies – Jodi Sta. Maria (as Amor Powers in Pangako Sa ‘Yo) and Julia Montes (Doble-Kara).

Other major acting winners include Best Performance by an Actor, Single Performance – Alden Richards (“The Alden Richards Story,” Magpakailanman) and Gerald Anderson (“Class Picture,” Maalaala Mo Kaya).

And the winner for Best Performance by an Actress, Single Performance is Angel Aquino (“Medical Record,” Maalaala Mo Kaya).

And the TV  Station of the Year is ABS-CBN 2. The awards ceremony and will be announced soon.

To complete the other set of winners are:

  PRINT  ( Panulat )

  1.   Best Magazine – Garage ( fashion, style )
  1.   Best Newspaper – Philippine Daily Inquirer (Broadsheet)
  1.   Best Newspaper – Pilipino Star Ngayon (Tabloid)
  1.   Best Newspaper Columnist -Ambeth R. Ocampo – (Opinion – Looking Back, PDI)
  1.   Best Entertainment Columnist
  1.   English – Ricky Gallardo ( Business Mirror, to be elevated to the Hall of Fame, and Ethel Ramos (People’s Journal )
  1.   Filipino – Alwin Ignacio (Abante Tonite), and  Cristy S. Fermin ( Bandera, Bulgar, Pilipino Star Ngayon, to be elevated to the Hall of Fame)

Special Award, Natatanging Gawad Tanglaw Sa Sining Ng Panulat – Gilda Olvidado (Komiks writer)

RADIO  ( Radyo )

  1.   Best  Radio  DJ  – DJ Chacha ( Tambayan 101.9)
  1.   Best  Radio Anchor (Male) – Nino Padilla (“Barangay RH” – DZRH)
  1.   Best  Radio Anchor (Female) – Kaye Dacer (“Aksyon Ngayon” – DZMM)
  1.   Best AM Station – DZRH Nationwide (666)
  1.   Best FM  Station – Love Radio (90.7)
  1.   Radio Station  of  the Year – DZMM- AM (630)


Natatanging Tanglaw ng Bayan sa Sining ng Radyo: “Usapang Kapatid” – DZMM Teleradyo

Natatanging Gawad Tanglaw Sa Sining Ng Radyo – Rey Langit

TELEVISION  ( Telebisyon )

  1. Best News Program – State of the Nation (GMA News TV)
  1. Best News Program Anchor  (Male) – Noli De Castro- TV Patrol (2)
  1. Best News Program  Anchor  (Female) – Luchi Cruz Valdez – Aksyon (5)
  1.  Best Business Program – On the Money (ANC )
  1.  Best Lifestyle Program – Greenliving (ANC)
  1.  Best Sports Program – Hardball (ANC)
  1.  Best Educational Program – History With Lourd(5)
  1.  Best Public Affairs Program – Reaksyon (5)
  1.  Best Public Service Program – My Puhunan (2)
  1. Best  Documentary  Program – Investigative Documentaries (GMA News TV)
  1. Best Investigative  Program – Scene of the Crime Operatives (SOCO) – (2) Hall of Famer
  1. Best Comedy Show – Home Sweetie Home  (2)
  1. Best Morning Program – Unang Hirit (7)
  1.  Best Game Show – Celebrity Playtime ( 2)
  1.  Best Variety Show – ASAP (2)
  1.  Best Entertainment Talk Show – MARS (GMA News TV)
  1. Best Talk Show  (Opinion) – Headstart with Karen Davila (ANC )
  1.  Best Magazine  Show – I- Juander ( GMA News TV)
  1. Best Reality/Talent  Show – Your Face Sounds Familiar (2)
  1. Best Drama Anthology – Magpakailanman (7), and Maalaala Mo Kaya (2)


  1. Developmental Communication Award for Comprehensive Coverage – 2015 FIBA (ASIA Championship, Sept.23-Oct. 3, 2015, Aksyon TV-5)
  1. Natatanging Gawad sa TV (Komersyal) – LUCKY ME- Kainang Pamilya Mahalaga (The Most Disturbing Dinner), Monde Nissin Corporation
  1. Natatanging Gawad sa TV (Edukasyon) – Nathaniel  (ABS-CBN 2)
  1. Natatanging BATA ( BIBO, AKTIBO, at TALENTADONG ANAK ng Sining) – Marco Antonio Masa (Nathaniel), ABS-CBN 2
  1. Natatanging Tanglaw ng Kabataan  sa Sining ng Telebisyon – Alden Richards and Maine Mendoza (Eat Bulaga’s Kalyesesrye), GMA 7
  1. Natatanging Gawad Tanglaw Sa Sining Ng Telebisyon – Antonio P. Tuviera (Executive Producer, Television And Production Exponents (TAPE), Inc.

 FILM (Pelikula)

  1. Best Editing – Benjamin Tolentino (Water Lemon)
  1. Best Musical Scoring – Erwin Romulo (Honor Thy Father)
  1. Best Production  Design – Joey Luna (Kid Kulafu)
  1. Best Cinematography – Pong Ignacio (Heneral Luna)
  1. Best Story – Lilit  Reyes (Water Lemon)
  1. Best Screenplay – Michiko Yamamoto (Honor Thy Father)
  1. Best Director – Erik Matti (Honor Thy Father)


  1. Special Jury Prize for Film – Imbisibol
  1. Gantimpalang Dr. Jaime G. Ang Presidential Jury Award for Film – John Arcilla
  1. Gawad  Dr.  Romeo Flaviano L. Lirio Para sa  Sining at Kultura – Eva Darren
  1. Natatanging Gawad Tanglaw Sa Sining Ng Pelikula – Joonee Gamboa
Share now!